Toro Y Moi Announces New Album, “Anything In Return”

The press release starts off in the worst way.

Referring to the new album titled “Anything in Return” due out January 22, “The product of a move from South Carolina to Berkeley, CA…”

I guess it’s what you do when you get a whiff of fame, but there are no better ambassadors for our unique Southern town than the guys in Toro y Moi.

The new album is described as a lot of things. Hip hoppy, California sound, 4/4 house music, dark, song writery, unprocessed non bubble gum pop music. That’s quite a lot conflicting things. Chaz Bundick and crew have shown the ability to be cutting edge ( he did in fact co invent Chill Wave with Washed Out), so there are no worries on this end that the album is going to impress and push Toro y Moi to a level of mainstream that they’ve yet to see.

Track list

Toro Y Moi
Anything In Return
Carpark Records
Street Date: Jan 22, 2013 
1. Harm In Change
2. Say That
3. So Many Details
4. Rose Quartz
5. Touch
6. Cola
7. Studies
8. High Living
9. Grown Up Calls
10. Cake
11. Day One
12. Never Matter
13. How’s It Wrong

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.