New Music

New Music: Valley Maker Announce New Album

New Music: Valley Maker Announce New Album

South Carolina native Austin Crane announced the release of his third full length album under the moniker Valley Maker due out October 12 via Frenchkiss Records.  Rhododendron is the follow-up to Valley Maker’s 2015 album When I Was a Child. 

As with Crane’s past Valley Maker albums, this one too ties in with his studies. Valley Maker was born out of Crane’s senior thesis at the University of South Carolina and prior to that he released music and performed under his own name. I remember a conversation we had years ago when I asked why he didn’t have merch to which he replied that he felt weird having his own name on shirts. Valley Maker solved that problem and stuck easily with Crane’s fans. Now a PhD student in Human Geography, Crane’s songwriting still is deeply connected reflecting on the human experience. In the debut song off the new album Crane sings “God is a name that I thought that I knew/ Found in a place that I fell into,”, as if he’s the seed. Origins and roots and the growth there forward has always been the crux of Crane’s song writing. 

Produced by fellow South Carolina native Chaz Bear of Toro y Moi and Trevor Spencer (Father John Misty, Fleet Foxes), judging from the first song Valley Maker take a step forward stylistically. While the first record was barebones, focused primarily on the lyrical aspect of the album and Crane’s first true dive into open tunings on guitar, each release has expanded on that sound from the first album. “Light on the Ground” features a driving creative beat wrapped around Crane’s signature guitar style. Longtime collaborator Amy Fitchette’s vocals are also key to Valley Maker and work their way seamlessly here, accompanied in the background by subtle haunting sounds and saxophone. 

Valley Maker - Rhododendron

October 12, 2018 – Frenchkiss Records

1. A Couple Days

2. Light On The Ground

3. Beautiful Birds Flying

4. Rise Up

5. Seven Signs

6. Be Born Today

7. Baby, In Your Kingdom

8. Planted In The Tall Weeds

9. Wonder

10. River Bend My Mind

[youtube id=”EWQP6IwcT-E”]


Post Comment