New Music

The Lovely Few Release New Video “Sad Disco”

The Lovely Few Release New Video “Sad Disco”

With the opening and title track from The Lovely Few’s new EP, Mike Mewborne and company take a break from their space themed songs and try their take at pop music. Featuring a new recording lineup made up of Kenny McWilliams (gang vocals, bass, keys, guitars) and Joe Stillwell (Drums) of Real Work, along with Phil Windsor (Guitar) and Ben Walker (Bass), the EP takes on a different feel than The Lovely Few’s past releases, with the style of each musician coming through. 

“This EP is our take on pop music: traditional structures and content (i.e. they’re mostly love songs) with our sometimes tongue-and-cheek/sometimes earnest take on the genre.” says Mewborne. “Sometimes it’s commentary. Sometimes it’s just love songs.”

The video for “Sad Disco” gives a good feel for the EP with the band experimenting and having fun with color and dance while still showing the emotion underneath. Shot and edited by The Pierson Collective, the video turns into a colorful glitchy dance party in slow motion, fitting of the song title.

Sad Disco drops Friday, November 15 with the release show happening the same night at New Brookland Tavern. The show is a joint release celebration with Real Work and Levvy who also have new releases out. These three bands will be joined by special guest Ghosts of the Kodiak.

The Pierson Collective recently released a behind the scenes recording video of The Lovely Few at Archer Avenue Studio for their song “Pear” also off the new EP.

“Sad Disco” is available for pre-order now through Friday on Bandcamp.